October 13, 2023

The 2023 winners of the Electrical Contracting Innovation Challenge were selected from NECA Student Chapters across the country. ELECTRI International features this annual initiative to help college students gain first-hand knowledge of and experience with the electrical construction industry.

EC industry leaders worked with the student teams throughout the challenge to help them create the most detailed, appropriate approach to a pre-determined electrical construction project. A volunteer jury of industry experts selected the following 2023 initiatives for the 2023 ECIC awards:

  • University of Wisconsin- Madison – First Place
  • Wayne State University – Second Place
  • Iowa State University – Third Place

The teams also presented brief project videos. For this part of the competition, the entire EC community had the opportunity to vote to select the winners.

  • Wayne State University – First Place
  • University of Wisconsin-Madison – Second Place
  • Illinois Institute of Technology – Third Place
  • Ball State University – Fourth Place

ELECTRI recognizes that presentation is an important part of getting ahead and has created a series of additional awards to honor student achievements.

  • Best Presenter – Will Sanders, Wayne State University
  • Most Innovative Prefabrication Plan – Wayne State University
  • Most Complete Change Order – California Polytechnic University, San Luis Obispo
  • Most Influential Social Media Campaign  -California Polytechnic University, San Luis Obispo

Getting involved and staying involved are the keys to a Student Chapter’s success. ELECTRI International honors SUNY – Delhi as the NECA Student Chapter of the Year.