The ELECTRI International / NECA Green Energy Challenge marks a yearly highlight for NECA Student Chapters. Teams agree that the popular Challenge is stimulating because it makes them focus on problem solving by thinking in new, creative ways.

Iowa State University GEC Team

2020 Challenge Overview

Using their surrounding area, teams are challenged to design an energy upgrade for a facility that provides community services to others. Examples would include a homeless shelter, food pantry, daycare center, library, house of worship, etc.

Teams are required to prepare a proposal showing how their chosen facility can decrease its energy consumption by incorporating energy saving measures and distributed energy resources. Teams are advised to emphasize detailed technical solutions for proposed systems, including lighting and integrated window treatments/controls, and the re-design of an energy efficiency program that responds to the unique needs of the building and climate.

2020 Green Energy Challenge Winners

1st Place: Iowa State University
Download Proposal

2nd Place: University of Toronto
Download Proposal

3rd Place: Ball State University
Download Proposal

4th Place: Illinois Institute of Technology
Download Proposal

2020 Green Energy Challenge Best Presenter Winner

Parker Lloyd, Iowa State University

2020 Green Energy Challenge Video Competition Winners

1st Place: Illinois Institute of Technology

2nd Place: Pennsylvania State University

3rd Place: Iowa State University

2020  Judges

Jeff Davis, CSI Electrical Contractors, Inc.

Amanda Harbison, NECA

Angie Hart, Rosendin Electric

Duane Hendricks, Egan

John Hillock, Ferndale Electric Company

Paul Hollanbacher, Sonepar

Kellie Holland, Empire Electric

Ken MacDougall, Penn-Del-Jersey Chapter NECA

Tim McBride, Southern Contracting Co.

Ted Robertson, Fisk Electric Company

Fred Sargent, Great Service Forums/Sargent Electric

Joey Shorter, Atlanta Chapter NECA

Joel Smith, Emerson/Greenlee

Greg Stewart, The Superior Group

Richard Temblador, Southwire

Robert Turner, Turner Electric

Mick Upchurch, Sonepar